Skip to main content

Guide to consultation statuses.

In this manual, the term consultation denotes both consultations and admissions, which are facilitated through a similar interface with minor variations. However, in certain contexts, the term consultation may specifically refer to inpatient scenarios, while admission is consistently used for outpatient situations.

A consultation can have one of the following statuses at any given time :

  • Pending : When a consultation is first created and before a doctor starts it, it is marked as pending. These pending consultations are shown on the homepage (in the table on the far left) in chronological order, with the consultation created first at the top and the one created most recently at the bottom of the list.
  • Ongoing : Once a consultation with a pending status is started, it transitions to an ongoing status. By default, starting a consultation necessitates the doctor to input a verification phrase to confirm that the correct consultation is being started. This verification phrase could be the consultation number, patient number, or the patient's national ID. However, there is an alternative setting that enables consultations to be automatically started without the requirement of a verification phrase, simply when the doctor opens the consultation. For more information on this system setting click here.
  • Completed : On the homepage, they are displayed in the table on the extreme right, with the most recent consultation at the top and the earliest at the bottom. The homepage only features consultations completed on the present day and the previous day, on any given day.
  • Admitted : These are consultations where the patient is allocated a bed and undergoes continuous treatment over a duration.
  • Discharged : When a patient no longer needs to be admitted they are to be discharged. Discharged patients are displayed in the same list as completed consultations on the homepage.
  • Cancelled : If a consultation is inadvertently set up, or if a patient no longer needs the consultation, an employee with the appropriate permissions can cancel it. However, only consultations that are currently in the pending status are eligible for cancellation. Also a consultation can only be cancelled if no billable items have been created within that consultation page.