Skip to main content

Using the keyboard to take capture consultation data (i.e. comments, notes and prescriptions).

Before proceeding with the instructions in this page it is crucial to familiarize yourself with the various sections of the consultation page (i.e. toolbar, blue ribbon, and interactive space) and to learn how to maneuver through the different views of the interactive space (i.e dashboard, timeline, keyboard inputs, and writting pads). If you are not yet acquainted with this information about the consultation page, please click here.

Before you follow the steps on this page, it is important to grasp the various consultation statuses : pending, ongoing, completed, admitted, discharged, and cancelled. Understanding these consultation statuses is key to effectively navigating the instructions. Click here to read more about this.

In this manual, the term consultation denotes both consultations and admissions, which are facilitated through a similar interface with minor variations. However, in certain contexts, the term consultation may specifically refer to inpatient scenarios, while admission is consistently used for outpatient situations.

Instructions :

  1. Go to the homepage and click a consultation from either the pending or ongoing tables, or open an admission from one of the admission ward tables.
  2. The next steps of the instructions require that the consultation be either in ongoing, completed or admitted statuses.
  3. Click the keyboard inputs button in the blue ribbon, which opens the keyboard inputs view.
  4. Each keyboard input (i.e. comments, notes and prescription) is labelled, allowing for the capturing of any relevant information.
  5. To store consultation data in the database permanently, you can choose one of the following actions :

    • Click the Save toolbar button. This will store all unsaved consultation data into the database. Upon successful saving, a popup message will appear to confirm the action. By clicking Ok on this popup, the consultation page will refresh. The saved data can then be accessed from the timeline view, and it is displayed with a timestamp showing the employee who saved it and the date and time of saving. (N.B. once saved, consultation data cannot be modified).
    • Click the Complete toolbar button. This will store all unsaved consultation data into the database. Upon successful saving, a popup message will appear to confirm the action. By clicking Ok on this popup, the consultation page will refresh. The saved data can then be accessed from the timeline view, and it is displayed with a timestamp showing the employee who saved it and the date and time of saving. (N.B. once saved, consultation data cannot be modified).